H&H Driving School Writing Test

TEST 1

  1. Failure to tell the truth when applying for a driver license may result in a fine of not less than:
    $500.00 and/or up to one year in prison…
  2. The purpose of the road test is to make sure:
    You can drive safely…
  3. The letters (MPH) on a speed limit sign means: (MILES PER HOUR)
  4. hen passing a school zone and children are going to and from school, the speed limit, unless otherwise posted is:
    25 MPH
  5. Unless,otherwise posted, the maximum speed limit in New Jersey, except Turnpikes, Parkways, and Interstate roadways is:
    50 MPH
  6. A driver license is a privilege which can be suspended for cause by:
    The Director of Motor Vehicles
  7. How soon before making a left or right turn should you give a signal?
    At least 100 feet before the turn…
  8. A flashing RED traffic light means:
    STOP and YIELD ROGHT OF WAY…
  9. A flashing yellow traffic light means:
    SLOW DOWN, PROCEED WITH CAUTION…
  10. Unless otherwise posted, the speed limit in a City, School Zone, Residential or business area is:
    25 MPH…
  11. Do not park closer than 10 feet from a fire hydrant…
  12. On a slipper road apply your brakes gently, pumping them…
  13. At 40 MPG the stopping distance is four times greater than at 20 MPH…
  14. Before making a left turn from a one way street keep close to the left side…
  15. An accident resulting in injury or death to a person or property damage over $300 must be reported within 10 days to the DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES…
  16. Many traffic accidents and deaths happen on highways when the weather is good and the roads are dry, in most cases, the major cause is:
    Speed…
  17. If a driver refuses to take the alcohol breath test, the penalty is:
    6 months of license suspension
  18. When blood/alcohol content reaches 0.15 percent, your chance of getting into a serious or fatal accident will increase:
    25 Times
  19. The penalty for driving while drunk will result in a fine of $250 to $400 and license suspended for 6 months to 1 year and possibly a jail term up to 30 days…
  20. Headlights should be used between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise, also in bad weather, dark cloudy days…
  21. You should drive with dim lights (low beam): In the CITY or when following or meeting another vehicle within 500 feet…
  22. Headlights have two sets of beams, controlled by a switch button:
    Bright beam (also known as high beam for open country with no traffic)…
  23. New Jersey drivers must take an eyesight test every 10 years…
  24. When you buy a used car it must be inspected within 14 days, after registration…
  25. Fine up to $100 for driving without the insurance card with you…
  26. When operating a motor vehicle in New Jersey you must always carry with you:
    YOUR DRIVER LICENSE, BEHICLE REGISTRATION, and INSURANCE CARD…
  27. If a traffic signal is not working:
    STOP ? CHECK TRAFFIC ? GO WHEN SAFE…
  28. An 8-sided traffic sign with a red background means:
    STOP…
  29. Lost license plates should be replaced within 24 hours…
  30. A triangular traffic sign means:
    YIELD THE RIGHT OF WAY…
  31. When your license is returned to you after being suspended, you will be on probation for one year…
  32. An uncontrolled intersection is where there are no traffic signs or traffic lights to control the flow of traffic…
  33. HYDROPLANING means:
    Losing the tire grip on wet roads and riding on a film of water…. Usually when going faster than 30 MPH…
  34. White lines painted across a road mean:
    A stop line for traffic signals and guide lines for pedestrians crossing the street…
  35. How much clear space do you need at 30 MPH between your car and the car you may be following?
    AT LEAST 3 CAR lengths…
  36. At 50 MPG you will need at least 5 car lengths behind
  37. Blind spots are on the left and right sides of your rear window…
  38. Liability Insurance is required on every registered vehicle in N.K…
  39. Vehicle Registration must be renewed every year…
  40. If you get new license plates turn in the old ones at any Motor Vehicle Inspection Station… Get a receipt… and fire it away (Important)…
  41. Under the New Jersey Point System, if you get 12 points on your driving record you will get a notice of “proposed license suspension”…
  42. You may turn right on a red light after first stopping and YIELD to traffic and pedestrians, unless you see “NO TURN ON RED” sign…
  43. Use your horn when passing other vehicles or to get attention of other drivers and pedestrians…
  44. Wearing both seat belt and shoulder strap will reduce your chances of surviving a crash, three or four times better than not wearing either…
  45. Eyesight and written tests must have a passing grade (80% on the laws). If before your examination permit can be validated for practice driving…
  46. ew Cars, inspected by the dealer, will get an inspection sticker good for two years plus time left on the registration of your trade-in (if any)… Used vehicles must be inspected every year… after it is registered.
  47. arking up hills where there is no curb on the right side…
    TURN YOUR WHEELS TO THE RIGHT
  48. The penalty for driving with a suspended license is:
    $2 to $1000 and/or imprisonment up to six months
  49. Driving at night with parking lights only is ILLEGAL AND DANGEROUS…
  50. IF your car fails inspection you have 30 days to make repairs…
  51. The yield sign is colored red on white, the shape is triangular…
  52. Do not park more than 6 inches from the curb…
  53. Do not park within 10 feet of a fire hydrant
    20 feet of a fire station driveway
    25 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection
    50 feet of a stop sign…
  54. A triangular yield sign means, yield (to give) the right of way.
  55. When entering highways, parkways and turnpikes use the:
    Acceleration lane (speed up lane)
  56. When leaving highways, parkways, and turnpikes use the:
    Deceleration lane (slow down lane)
  57. At 20 MPH your following distance should be:
    At least 2 car lengths
  58. You must always give the right of way to:
    Pedestrians. A pedestrian includes a person in a wheel chair, a person operating a push cart, a person on skates, riding on or moving a sled, also a baby in a carriage.
  59. Before your license is due to expire, you should receive a renewal notice by mail, If you do not get a renewal notice by mail, you should:
    Renew your license in person at any Motor Vehicle Agency…
  60. To start on snow or ice, if your wheels spin you should shift to second or low gear and keep your engine speed low…
  61. If your car is stranded in a heavy snow storm or blizzard it is best to:
    Stay with the car…
  62. Brake Failure:
    If your brakes fall to hold, shift to low gear and pump the brake pedal fast and hard a few times. Also use the parking brake, but hold the brake release so you can let it off if the rear wheels lock or skid…
  63. The vehicle you drive in New Jersey must be insured for: LIABILITY…
  64. The definition of “tailgater” is: A driver who follows too closely…
  65. The penalty for driving without the insurance card in your possession is a fine up to $100…
  66. When you wear both a seat belt and shoulder strap, your chances of surviving a crash are Three to four times better.
  67. wo parallel white lines painted across the street mean: Pedestrian Crosswalk…
  68. hen driving in fog or heavy rain use: Low beam head lights

TEST 2

  1. The letters (M.P.H.) on a speed limit sign means:
    Miles Per Hour..
  2. Before entering a curve:
    Slow Down..
  3. At an intersection where there are no signs or signals:
    Be ready to stop your car.
  4. Before making a right turn you should:
    Always get into the right lane..
  5. During the first few minutes of rain, the road surface is most slipper..
  6. If your blood alcohol content reaches .10%, you are under the influence..
  7. 1 1/2 ounces of liquor or 12 ounces of beer has the same alcohol content..
  8. Be sure you can stop within the distance you can see, when driving at night..
  9. It may happen sometime, when your gas pedal sticks, you should:
    Watch the road and traffic ahead..
    Sift to neutral..
    Stop at the side of the road and shut off the engine..
  10. You are allowed to make a right turn on a red light, after first stop, unless there is a sign (No Turn On Red)..
  11. If you drive without insurance in New jersey, It is illegal..
  12. A flashing RED traffic light means:
    Stop, then proceed with care..
  13. A flashing YELLOW light means:
    Slow down and proceed with care..
  14. The maximum speed allowed on interstate highways is:
    55 MPH
  15. Using seat belts I important, because they increase your chance of surviving a crash.
  16. Be sure to use the proper lane before making a left turn from a two-way road into a four lane road
  17. Driving with parking lights only is ILLEGAL..
  18. You should sound your horn, when coming out of an alley or driveway..
  19. When two cars enter an intersection at the same time and there are no traffic lights or signs, the car on the left must yield to the car coming from his right..
  20. As you approach a steady yellow traffic light, you should stop before entering the intersection, if you can do so safely..
  21. Only time and waiting will get rid of the alcohol in your body..
  22. If a driver coming toward you fails to dim his headlights, you should, look down toward the right side of the road, to avoid glare..
  23. A solid white line across a road at an intersection means:
    Stop at the line for traffic lights..
  24. If your tire blows out, “sudden flat tire”:
    Gradually slow the car down and stop..
  25. The “Two Second Rule” can be used to help you:
    To keep a safe following distance from the vehicle ahead.. When you say, “One thousand one and One thousand two” ? that equals two seconds..
  26. When a school bus has stopped in front of a school, you may pass it an a speed of not more than 10 MPH..
  27. If your brakes suddenly fail:
    Shift to low gear and pump brakes hard..
  28. On a dry road, at 50 MPH, your stopping distance should be 243 feet..
  29. Before making a left turn from a two-way street you should get into the lane nearest the center of the road..
  30. When approaching an intersection you should: Slow down and be ready to stop.
  31. The main purpose of the traffic laws is to: Protect you and others using the highway..
  32. If you are convicted of driving without insurance, you may:
    Turn in your drivers license..
    Turn in your vehicle registration..
    Pay a fine..
  33. Passing a car on the right is permitted, when the driver ahead is making a left turn and you have a proper lane on your right.. Not the shoulder
  34. The speed limit in a business or residential zone, is 25 MPG unless otherwise posted..
  35. If your brakes fail, you should:
    Shift to low gear and pump the brakes..
  36. If you go past your exit on a turnpike or expressway:
    Go to the next exit.
  37. In case of a sudden stop or crash, using your seat belts may:
    Keep you from falling out of the car..
    Keep you from hitting your head against the windshield..
    Help you from losing control of the car..
  38. When a school bus is stopped with lights flashing, on a two-way road:
    You are required to stop..
  39. When you refuse to take a breath test, concerning alcohol, the penalty is license suspended for 3 months..
  40. If your car goes into a skid: Turn the steering in the same direction the back of the car is skidding..
  41. You must signal at least 100 feet before making a turn..
  42. Parking down hill on a street with a curb, turn the wheels toward the crub..
  43. Green light means go, if it is safe..
  44. A great many collisions are caused by:
    Drivers error..
  45. When is it safe to pass another car? When you can see far enough ahead for any oncoming traffic..
  46. If you are nervous, angry, or upset, calm down. Cool off, before you drive..
  47. If your car goes off the road onto a dirt shoulder and you want to get back on the road again:
    Slow down, then turn back on the road again..
  48. 48. Going around a curve too fast, your call will tend to:
    Go straight ahead..
  49. Two, Three, or Four drinks is likely to:
    Impair good judgment..
    Slow down reaction time..
    Lose coordination..
  50. 3 points will be removed from your driving record if you have, No moving violations within one year..
  51. When you are driving you should:
    Avoid fixing your eyes or attention on one thing for more than a couple of seconds..
  52. All serious accidents must be reported to the Division of Motor Vehicles within 5 days.. (Injury, Death, Extensive damage)
  53. When yo legally turn right on a red light, you must first STOP..
  54. Not near a school, when a school bus is stopped with flashing lights on a two way road:
    You must stop, until the bus goes again..
  55. You should dim your headlights to low beam when another car is coming toward you on a two way road..
  56. High bea, lights are used mainly on:
    Open country roads..
  57. The purpose of the road test is to make sure:
    You can drive safely..
  58. If your car goes into a skid:
    Take off the gas, and don’t brake..
  59. The speed limit, unless otherwise posted, in a school zone is:
    25 MPH..
  60. Both the student driver and the instructor are responsible for any traffic violation..
  61. On a winding two lane road you could expect to see:
    Double center solid lines..
  62. If you are leaving an expressway:
    Slow down to posted exit speed..
  63. When you come to a four way stop:
    Yield to the driver on your right..
  64. As your approach an intersection you should first look to the LEFT..
  65. Driving through a deep puddle of water may cause your brakes to get wet, Test them by pumping the brakes lightly…. To dry them out,,
  66. On roads covered with water, ice, and snow, change speed of car and steetin slower..
  67. If you are about to have a head on collision with another car:
    Try to sideswipe the other car rather than hit it head-on..
  68. When driving behind another car, you should stay atleast:
    Two seconds behind the car in front of you.. This is called the 2-second rule, (it has to do with distance between cars.)
  69. The amount of drinks needed to raise the blood alcohol content above the legal limits depends mainly upon:
    Your body weight..
  70. Hydroplaning is when the tires lose traction on a wet road, during a heavy rain, usually at speeds above 35 MPH:
    Slow down..
  71. When you drive you must have in your possession at all times:
    Your drivers license ? Vehicle Registration ? Insurance card..
  72. Passing at the wrong time and place can cause the most serious accidents..
  73. Parking on a hill where there is no curb, turn the wheels toward the edge of the road.. (up hill or down hill it’s the same way..)
  74. Tailgater is a driver who follows too close to the vehicle ahead, it is a moving violation, illegal and dangerous..
  75. Most drivers convicted of drunken driving had been drinking:
    Beer..
  76. When you serve alcohol to guests in your home and they leave intoxicated and have an accident, you may be subject to a lawsuit..
  77. If you are using drugs under a Doctors orders you must show proof..
  78. You should not drive after using any drug that may cause you to get drowsy or dizzy..
  79. When a school bus stops on a two way road with flashing lights you are required to stop within 25 feet from the bus..
  80. The speed limit on interstate highways is 55 MPH..
  81. If you have an accident where damages exceed $200 or someone is injured or killed you must report to the Division of Motor Vehicles in 5 days..
  82. Most collisions are caused by, driver error.. (mistakes by driver)..
  83. Before making a left turn, get into the lane nearest the center line..
  84. Before making a right turn on a red light you must STOP first, unless there is a sign, NO RIGHT ON RED..
  85. An acceleration lane is used when entering a main highway..
    A deceleration lane is used when leaving the main highway..
  86. You should expect to see double solid lines on a winding road..
  87. If your gas pedal sticks, watch the road ahead, shift to neutral, then stop..
  88. If your car drifts onto a dirt shoulder, slow down and gradually return on road..
  89. After driving through puddle of water, apply brakes a few times to dry them out..
  90. If arrested for drunk driving your chances of being convicted is 96%..
  91. Your driving can be impaired with, Alcohol, Beer, Wine, tranquilizers..
  92. When you Blood Alcohol Content reaches .05% your chances of getting involved in an accident is TWO times greater:
    .10% is 6 times greater: .15% 25 times..
  93. The penalty for driving with a suspended license is:
    Fine $200 to $1000 and 6 months Jail..
  94. Traffic lights are standard:
    From top to bottom, RED.. AMBER.. GREEN.. on bottom..
    WHEN HANGING SIDE BY SIDE THE RED IS ALWAYS ON THE LEFT, THEN AMBER, THEN GREEN..
  95. Agricultural license is used for farm purpose only:
    can obtain at age 16..
  96. A new licensed driver is placed on a two year probationary period..
  97. When a school bus stops on a two way road with flashing lights, you must stop within 25 of the bus.. When stopped directly in front of a school you may proceed at not more than 10 MPH..
  98. License plates are placed between 12 and 48 inches from the road surface..
  99. If you fail your road test 4 times, you may be required to wait 1 year..
  100. Your chances of surviving a collision is 4 to 4 times greater with seat belts..
  101. Ask your instructor to explain any questions you don’t understand..
  102. Getting a license illegally may result in a fine of $200 to $500 fine and/or 30 to 90 days in jail and your license taken away..
  103. The penalty for drunken driving aside from the fines will require you to pay $1000 each year for 3 years as a automobile insurance surcharge.. don’t drink..

TEST 3

  1. If you want to park uphill with a curb, your should turn your wheels to the:
    left
  2. Drugs and alcohol can affect:
    coordination
    vision
    decision making
  3. To get an examination permit you must:
    must pass a vision and knowledge test
  4. The fastest way to "get sober" is:
    time
  5. How close to a stop sign can you park?
    50 feet
  6. A driver should always yield to:
    people in a cross walk
    fire engines
    police cars
  7. It is the law to yield:
    When pedestrians are in a cross walk
    when behind a vehicle yielding to pedestrians
    when there is a stop sign
  8. You should only use your high beams when:
    driving on open roads with little or no traffic
  9. One 5 ounce glass of wine has the same amount of alcohol as:
    1 and 1/2 ounces of 86 proof liquor
  10. A truck takes how much longer to stop than a car if it is raining?
    25%
  11. An acceleration lane is used when:
    entering a highway
  12. A motorist must stop:
    at the direction of a traffic officer
  13. If you are about to enter a curve in the road, you should:
    slow down
  14. A state resident must transfer their license:
    within 60 days or until the out of state license expires whichever is first
  15. A provisional license lasts for:
    one year
  16. Every driver must have:
    liability insurance
  17. Signs of an intoxicated driver include:
    all of the above are correct
  18. An habitual offender is someone who:
    A person with three violations in three years
  19. If you are under 21 years old, you are considered under the influence if you BAC is:
    .10%
    .08%
    .02%
  20. A common mistake for a new driver is:
    hitting the brake to hard
  21. When are right turns allowed?
    After a full stop when there is not a NO TURN ON RED sign and when traffic has been checked.
  22. An uncontrolled intersection has:
    no signs
  23. You may pass another vehicle if:
    you are on a two way road with a shoulder
  24. A blue sign is for:
    information
  25. As a car enters a curve, it tends to go:
    straight
  26. If you get a flat tire while driving on a two lane road the best thing to do is:
    take your foot off the gas and slowly leave the roadway
  27. A new vehicle does not get inspected for
    4 years
  28. An eight sided sign is:
    a stop sign
  29. Have far from an intersection should you signal when making a turn?
    At least 100 feet
  30. To communicate with other drivers during the day it is best to:
    use your horn
  31. Under what circumstance can a driver get a conditional license in NJ?
    Never
  32. We use the 2 second rule for:
    when determining following distance
  33. A yellow triangle sign mean:
    yield
  34. If the brakes fail to stop your car, you should:
    pump your brakes and put the car into neutral
  35. Drivers may use studded snow tires between:
    November 15 and April 1
  36. To get a special learners permit the student must be at least:
    16 years old
  37. A basic driver's license is awarded to someone who is a least:
    18
  38. Hydroplaning can cause:
    tires to ride up on a film of water
  39. Hydroplaning can occur:
    during a heavy rain storm
  40. To obtain a GDL permit you must:
    be at least 17
    pass a written and eye test
  41. When a driver holds their left are straight out the window it means he will:
    turn left
  42. An aggressive driver may exhibit the following:
    pass illegally
    weave in traffic
  43. warning sign is what shape?
    diamond
  44. DUI means:
    driving while using drugs or alcohol
  45. When turning onto a 4 lane road from a 2 lane road it is best to turn into:
    The lane nearest the center of the road
  46. Define BAC
    A method that measures how intoxicated a driver is
  47. An orange triangle sign with a red border means:
    slow moving vehicle
  48. Seat belts should be worn by:
    Any person in the car regardless of age
  49. For a first driving offense, other than DUI, a driver can receive:
    a fine of $50-$150
  50. Every licensed driver must have three items with them while driving. They are:
    a valid license, valid insurance and registration

TEST 4

  1. You may pass when:
    paving markings and road signs permit
    when absolutely necessary
    after you have checked traffic behind and in front of you
  2. You can pass a school bus only when:
    when the bus has pulled into a school to pick up children
  3. Every licensed driver must have three items with them while driving. They are:
    a valid license, valid insurance and registration
  4. Hydroplaning can cause:
    tires to ride up on a film of water
  5. An eight sided sign is:
    a stop sign
  6. When should you dim your headlights?
    if you are behind someone and within 500 feet of them
  7. An orange triangle sign with a red border means:
    slow moving vehicle
  8. It is the law to yield:
    When pedestrians are in a cross walk
    when behind a vehicle yielding to pedestrians
    when there is a stop sign
  9. Define BAC
    A method that measures how intoxicated a driver is
  10. Under what circumstance can a driver get a conditional license in NJ?
    Never
  11. If you are about to enter a curve in the road, you should:
    slow down
  12. When a driver holds their left are straight out the window it means he will:
    turn left
  13. To obtain a GDL permit you must:
    be at least 17
    pass a written and eye test
  14. An uncontrolled intersection is:
    an un-marked intersection
  15. Signs of an intoxicated driver include:
    going to slow
    weaving in and out of traffic
    stopping abruptly
  16. Drivers may use studded snow tires between:
    November 15 and April 1
  17. An uncontrolled intersection has:
    no signs
  18. Drivers convicted of a moving violation in a construction zone can:
    Have their fines doubled
  19. The purpose of a deceleration lane is:
    to allow the driver to slow down when leaving a highway
  20. An habitual offender is someone who:
    A person with three violations in three years
  21. An aggressive driver may exhibit the following:
    pass illegally
    weave in traffic
  22. In order for a driver to get a provisional license they must:
    complete 6 months of supervised driving
    be suspension free
    pass a road test
  23. For a first driving offense, other than DUI, a driver can receive:
    a fine of $50-$150
  24. One 5 ounce glass of wine has the same amount of alcohol as:
    1 and 1/2 ounces of 86 proof liquor
  25. A special GDL permit allows you to drive:
    after you completed a driver education course and are at least 16 years old.
  26. Which of the following can affect your driving:
    Tiredness
    Illness
    Drugs and alcohol
  27. Hydroplaning can occur:
    during a heavy rain storm
  28. Seat belts should be worn by:
    Any person in the car regardless of age
  29. Rearview mirror blind spots are found:
    behind rear window post
    on the left side
    on the right side
  30. A motorist must stop:
    at an intersection with a flashing red light
  31. We use the 2 second rule for:
    when determining following distance
  32. To communicate with other drivers during the day it is best to:
    use your horn
  33. A blue sign is for:
    information
  34. A state resident must transfer their license:
    within 60 days or until the out of state license expires whichever is first
  35. To get a special learners permit the student must be at least:
    16 years old
  36. You have to notify MVC of a name change within:
    Two weeks
  37. When turning onto a 4 lane road from a 2 lane road it is best to turn into:
    The lane nearest the center of the road
  38. A driver with a special learner's permit may drive between the hours of:
    11:01pm and 5:00am
  39. A driver should always yield to:
    people in a cross walk
    fire engines
    police cars
  40. You should only use your high beams when:
    driving on open roads with little or no traffic
  41. A new vehicle does not get inspected for
    4 years
  42. If you want to park uphill with a curb, your should turn your wheels to the:
    left
  43. To get an examination permit you must:
    must pass a vision and knowledge test
  44. As a car enters a curve, it tends to go:
    straight
  45. The colors of a stop light from top to bottom are:
    red, yellow, green
  46. A provisional license lasts for:
    one year
  47. If you are under 21 years old, you are considered under the influence if you BAC is:
    .10%
    .08%
    .02%
  48. If the brakes fail to stop your car, you should:
    pump your brakes and put the car into neutral
  49. Drugs and alcohol can affect:
    coordination
    vision
    decision making
  50. The speed limit in a business district is:
    25 mp