If you live in New Jersey, you need to have a good understanding of NJ driving laws to make sure that you are on the right side of the law. It is also important to have a comprehension of the laws because it helps to keep yourself and other road users safe. This article looks at important NJ driving laws that you should know.
Getting Your Driving License
Before we talk about actual driving laws, it is good to know the process of getting your driving license in New Jersey and the laws involved during the process.
- Learner’s Permit
Any person of age 16 and above is eligible to enter an Early Bird Road Program, and the first step entails getting a learner’s permit. To apply for a learner’s permit, you have to visit an MVC agency, which provides Driver Testing Services, pass a vision and knowledge test, show proof of enrollment in a training course, and show proof of identification. After this is done, you have to pay the required fee and you will get the learner’s permit, which will be valid for two years.
- Probationary License
After turning 17 years of age, an individual that has held a permit for 6 months and has completed the supervisory period can now take the MVC road test. When you pass this test, you get a probationary license, which will be valid for one year. During this time, the driver does not have to be accompanied by a supervised licensed adult. However, the driver cannot drive between 12AM and 5AM without the right authorization. In addition to this, the driver cannot transport passengers, apart from parents and guardians.
- The Actual Driving License
After accomplishing unsupervised driving during the probationary period, individuals are now eligible to get a basic and unrestricted driving license.
Other Driving Laws
- Seat Belts
New Jersey laws require all drivers and passengers to wear seat belts. A car can thus be pulled over if a person in the front seat is not wearing a seat belt. In case the vehicle is pulled over for another reason, those in the back seat can be issued with a violation of traffic laws.
When it comes to children, any child under the age of 8 and less than 57 inches in height has to sit in a forward-facing safety seat that is fitted with a 5-point harness. If your child has outgrown these measurements, he/she must sit in the right booster seat. Those kids under 4 years of age and less than 40 pounds have to be seated in a rear-facing safety seat that is also fitted with a 5-point harness.
The state of New Jersey requires vehicles to be driven with proper insurance. According to NJ driving laws, a minimum liability insurance policy of $15,000 bodily injury per person is required. In addition to this, they require a minimum liability insurance policy of $5,000 property damage per accident and $30,000 bodily injury per accident. A personal injury protection of at least $250,000 is also required.
Any failure by a driver to carry the needed insurance can result to community service and a fine of between $300 and $1,000. Your driver’s license might also be suspended for one year. Any second offense on the same will lead to 30 days community service, a maximum $5,000 fine, a two-year license suspension, and up to 14 days in jail.
- Right of Way
Drivers in New Jersey are required to give the right of way in any situation could cause an accident, even when the other party is in the wrong. Drivers must also yield the right of way to pedestrians in crosswalks and postal vehicles.
- School Buses
Drivers in New Jersey are required to stop a minimum of 25 feet from a school bus that has its lights flashing. The drivers on the side of the highway that has safety islands and medians separating lanes must slow to 10mph.
Apart from the aforementioned NJ driving laws, it is not in accordance to the law to drive a vehicle that is moving forward with backup lights turned on, add aftermarket tinting to front side windows or the windshield, or idle for more than three minutes on the road unless when going through a drive-through or held in traffic. In New Jersey, drivers can turn right at red lights, as long as no signs prohibit this move. Motorists in New Jersey are required to follow these and many other common traffic laws that drivers in all states must follow.