Menu Close

Written Test

Test 1Test 2Test 3Test 4
TEST 1

Failure to tell the truth when applying for a driver license may result in a fine of not less than:
$500.00 and/or up to one year in prison.
The purpose of the road test is to make sure:
You can drive safely.
The letters (MPH) on a speed limit sign means:
(MILES PER HOUR)
When passing a school zone and children are going to and from school, the speed limit, unless otherwise posted is:
25 MPH
Unless otherwise posted, the maximum speed limit in New Jersey, except Turnpikes, Parkways, and Interstate roadways is:
50 MPH
A driver license is a privilege which can be suspended for cause by:
The Director of Motor Vehicles
How soon before making a left or right turn should you give a signal?
At least 100 feet before the turn.
A flashing RED traffic light means:
Stop and Yield Right of Way
A flashing yellow traffic light means:
Slow down, proceed with caution.
Unless otherwise posted, the speed limit in a City, School Zone, Residential or business area is:
25 MPH
Do not park closer than 10 feet
from a fire hydrant
On a slippery road
apply your brakes gently, pumping them
At 40 MPH the stopping distance is
four times greater than at 20 MPH
Before making a left turn from a one way street
keep close to the left side
An accident resulting in injury or death to a person or property damage over $300 must be reported within 10 days to:
the Division of Motor Vehicles.
Many traffic accidents and deaths happen on highways when the weather is good and the roads are dry, in most cases, the major cause is:
Speed
If a driver refuses to take the alcohol breath test, the penalty is
6 months of license suspension
When blood/alcohol content reaches 0.15 percent, your chance of getting into a serious or fatal accident will increase:
25 Times
The penalty for driving while drunk will result in
a fine of $250 to $400 and license suspended for 6 months to 1 year and possibly a jail term up to 30 days
Headlights should be used
between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise, also in bad weather, dark cloudy days
Headlights have two sets of beams, controlled by a switch button:
dim lights (low beam): use in the city or when following or meeting another vehicle within 500 feet
Bright beam (also known as high beam): for open country with no traffic.
New Jersey drivers must take an eyesight test
every 10 years
When you buy a used car it must be
inspected within 14 days, after registration
The fine for driving without the insurance card with you
is up to $100
When operating a motor vehicle in New Jersey you must always carry with you:
Your driver’s license, vehicle registration and insurance card
If a traffic signal is not working:
STOP • CHECK TRAFFIC • GO WHEN SAFE
An 8-sided traffic sign with a red background means:
STOP
Lost license plates should be
replaced within 24 hours
A triangular traffic sign means:
YIELD THE RIGHT OF WAY
When your license is returned to you after being suspended, you will be on probation
for one year
An uncontrolled intersection is where
there are no traffic signs or traffic lights to control the flow of traffic
HYDROPLANING means:
Losing the tire grip on wet roads and riding on a film of water. Usually when going faster than 30 MPH
White lines painted across a road mean:
A stop line for traffic signals and guide lines for pedestrians crossing the street.
How much clear space do you need at 30 MPH between your car and the car you may be following?
AT LEAST 3 CAR lengths. At 50 MPG you will need at least 5 car lengths behind
Blind spots are
on the left and right sides of your rear window
Liability Insurance is required
on every registered vehicle in NJ
Vehicle Registration must be
renewed every year
If you get new license plates
turn in the old ones at any Motor Vehicle Inspection Station. Get a receipt and file it away (Important)
Under the New Jersey Point System, if you get 12 points on your driving record
you will get a notice of “proposed license suspension”
You may turn right on a red light after
first stopping and YIELD to traffic and pedestrians, unless you see “NO TURN ON RED” sign
Use your horn when
passing other vehicles or to get attention of other drivers and pedestrians
Wearing both seat belt and shoulder strap will
reduce your chances of surviving a crash, three or four times better than not wearing either
Eyesight and written tests must have a passing grade
(80% on the laws) before your examination permit can be validated for practice driving
New Cars, inspected by the dealer, will get an inspection sticker good for
two years plus time left on the registration of your trade-in (if any). Used vehicles must be inspected every year after it is registered.
When parking up hills where there is no curb on the right side
Turn your wheels to the right
The penalty for driving with a suspended license is:
$2 to $1000 and/or imprisonment up to six months
Driving at night with parking lights only is
Illegal and dangerous
If your car fails inspection
you have 30 days to make repairs
The yield sign is colored red on white, the shape is triangular
Do not park more than 6 inches from the curb
Do not park within
  • 10 feet of a fire hydrant
  • 20 feet of a fire station driveway
  • 25 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection
  • 50 feet of a stop sign
A triangular yield sign means
yield (to give) the right of way
When entering highways, parkways and turnpikes use the:
Acceleration lane (speed up lane)
When leaving highways, parkways, and turnpikes use the:
Deceleration lane (slow down lane)
At 20 MPH your following distance should be:
At least 2 car lengths
You must always give the right of way to:
Pedestrians. A pedestrian includes a person in a wheel chair, a person operating a push cart, a person on skates, riding on or moving a sled, also a baby in a carriage.
Before your license is due to expire, you should
receive a renewal notice by mail, If you do not get a renewal notice by mail, you should renew your license in person at any Motor Vehicle Agency.
When starting your vehicle on snow or ice, if your wheels spin you should
shift to second or low gear and keep your engine speed low
If your car is stranded in a heavy snow storm or blizzard it is best to:
Stay with the car
Brake Failure: If your brakes fall to hold
shift to low gear and pump the brake pedal fast and hard a few times. Also use the parking brake, but hold the brake release so you can let it off if the rear wheels lock or skid.
The vehicle you drive in New Jersey must be insured for:
Liability
The definition of “tailgater” is:
A driver who follows too closely
The penalty for driving without the insurance card in your possession is
a fine up to $100
When you wear both a seat belt and shoulder strap, your chances of surviving a crash are
Three to four times better.
Parallel white lines painted across the street mean:
Pedestrian Crosswalk
When driving in fog or heavy rain use:
Low beam head lights
TEST 2

The letters (M.P.H.) on a speed limit sign means:
Miles Per Hour.
Before entering a curve:
Slow Down.
At an intersection where there are no signs or signals:
Be ready to stop your car.
Before making a right turn you should:
Always get into the right lane.
During the first few minutes of rain
The road surface is most slippery
If your blood alcohol content reaches .10%
You are under the influence.
1 1/2 ounces of liquor or 12 ounces of beer
Has the same alcohol content.
When driving at night
Be sure you can stop within the distance you can see.
It may happen sometime, when your gas pedal sticks, you should:
Watch the road and traffic ahead.
Sift to neutral.
Stop at the side of the road and shut off the engine.
On a red light, after first stop, unless there is a sign (No Turn On Red).
You are allowed to make a right turn
If you drive without insurance in New Jersey
It is illegal.
A flashing RED traffic light means:
Stop, then proceed with care.
A flashing YELLOW light means:
Slow down and proceed with care.
The maximum speed allowed on interstate highways is:
55 MPH
Using seat belts is important, because
They increase your chance of surviving a crash.
Be sure to use the proper lane before
making a left turn from a two-way road into a four lane road
Driving with parking lights only is
Illegal
When coming out of an alley or driveway
You should sound your horn
When two cars enter an intersection at the same time and there are no traffic lights or signs
The car on the left must yield to the car coming from his right.
As you approach a steady yellow traffic light, you should
Stop before entering the intersection, if you can do so safely.
Only time and waiting will
Get rid of the alcohol in your body.
If a driver coming toward you fails to dim his headlights, you should
Look down toward the right side of the road, to avoid glare.
A solid white line across a road at an intersection means:
Stop at the line for traffic lights.
If your tire blows out, “sudden flat tire”:
Gradually slow the car down and stop.
The “Two Second Rule” can be used to help you:
To keep a safe following distance from the vehicle ahead.
When you say, “One thousand one and One thousand two” ?
That equals two seconds.
When a school bus has stopped in front of a school
You may pass it an a speed of not more than 10 MPH.
If your brakes suddenly fail:
Shift to low gear and pump brakes hard.
On a dry road, at 50 MPH, your stopping distance should be
243 feet.
Before making a left turn from a two-way street you should
Get into the lane nearest the center of the road.
When approaching an intersection you should:
Slow down and be ready to stop.
The main purpose of the traffic laws is to:
Protect you and others using the highway.
If you are convicted of driving without insurance, you may:
Turn in your drivers license.
Turn in your vehicle registration.
Pay a fine.
Passing a car on the right is permitted, when
The driver ahead is making a left turn and you have a proper lane on your right.. Not the shoulder
The speed limit in a business or residential zone, is
25 MPG unless otherwise posted.
If you go past your exit on a turnpike or expressway:
Go to the next exit.
In case of a sudden stop or crash, using your seat belts may:
Keep you from falling out of the car.
Keep you from hitting your head against the windshield.
Help you from losing control of the car.
When a school bus is stopped with lights flashing, on a two-way road:
You are required to stop.
When you refuse to take a breath test, concerning alcohol, the penalty is
license suspended for 3 months.
If your car goes into a skid:
Turn the steering in the same direction the back of the car is skidding.
You must signal at least
100 feet before making a turn.
Parking down hill on a street with a curb, turn the wheels
Toward the curb.
Green light means
go, if it is safe.
A great many collisions are caused by:
Drivers error.
When is it safe to pass another car?
When you can see far enough ahead for any oncoming traffic.
If you are nervous, angry, or upset:
Calm down and cool off, before you drive.
If your car goes off the road onto a dirt shoulder and you want to get back on the road again:
Slow down, then turn back on the road again.
Going around a curve too fast, your car will tend to:
Go straight ahead.
Two, Three, or Four drinks is likely to:
Impair good judgment.
Slow down reaction time.
Lose coordination.
3 points will be removed from your driving record if you
Have no moving violations within one year.
When you are driving you should:
Avoid fixing your eyes or attention on one thing for more than a couple of seconds.
All serious accidents must be reported to the Division of Motor Vehicles
Within 5 days including injury, death and/or extensive damage (over $200).
When you legally turn right on a red light, you must first
Stop
When a school bus is stopped with flashing lights on a two way road (Not near a school):
You must stop, until the bus goes again.
You should dim your headlights to low beam when
Another car is coming toward you on a two way road.
High beam lights are used mainly on:
Open country roads.
The purpose of the road test is to make sure:
You can drive safely.
If your car goes into a skid:
Take off the gas, and don’t brake.
The speed limit, unless otherwise posted, in a school zone is:
25 MPH.
The student driver and the instructor are
Both responsible for any traffic violation.
On a winding two lane road you could expect to see:
Double center solid lines.
If you are leaving an expressway:
Slow down to posted exit speed.
When you come to a four way stop:
Yield to the driver on your right.
As your approach an intersection you should first look
To the left.
Driving through a deep puddle of water may cause your brakes to get wet, test them by
Pumping the brakes lightly to dry them out.
If you are about to have a head on collision with another car:
Try to side swipe the other car rather than hit it head-on.
When driving behind another car, you should stay at least:
Two seconds behind the car in front of you. This is called the 2-second rule and it has to do with distance between cars.
The amount of drinks needed to raise the blood alcohol content above the legal limits depends mainly upon:
Your body weight.
Hydroplaning is when
The tires lose traction on a wet road, during a heavy rain, usually at speeds above 35 MPH – Slow down.
When you drive you must have in your possession at all times:
Your drivers license, vehicle registration and insurance card.
Passing at the wrong time and place can
Cause the most serious accidents.
When parking on a hill where there is no curb
Turn the wheels toward the edge of the road. Up hill or down hill, it’s the same way.
A tailgater is a driver who
Follows too close to the vehicle ahead. It is a moving violation, illegal and dangerous.
Most drivers convicted of drunken driving had been drinking:
Beer.
When you serve alcohol to guests in your home and they leave intoxicated and have an accident
You may be subject to a lawsuit.
If you are using drugs under a Doctor’s orders
You must show proof.
You should not drive after using
Any drug that may cause you to get drowsy or dizzy.
When a school bus stops on a two way road with flashing lights you are required to
Stop within 25 feet from the bus.
Most collisions are caused by
Driver error – mistakes made by the driver.
Before making a left turn
Get into the lane nearest the center line.
Before making a right turn on a red light you must
STOP first, unless there is a sign, NO RIGHT ON RED.
An acceleration lane is used
When entering a main highway.
A deceleration lane is used
When leaving the main highway.
You should expect to see double solid lines
On a winding road.
If your gas pedal sticks
Watch the road ahead, shift to neutral, then stop.
If your car drifts onto a dirt shoulder
Slow down and gradually return on road.
If arrested for drunk driving your chances of being convicted is
96%.
Your driving can be impaired with
Alcohol, Beer, Wine, tranquilizers.
When you Blood Alcohol Content reaches
.05% your chances of getting involved in an accident is TWO times greater
.10% is 6 times greater
.15% 25 times.
The penalty for driving with a suspended license is:
A fine of $200 to $1000 and 6 months in jail.
Traffic lights are standard:
From top to bottom, RED – AMBER – GREEN
When hanging horizontally, traffic lights are arranged
From left to right, RED – AMBER – GREEN
Agricultural license is used for farm purpose only:
Can obtain at age 16.
A new licensed driver is placed on a

Two year probationary period.
When a school bus stops directly in front of a school you may
Proceed at not more than 10 MPH.
License plates are placed
Between 12 and 48 inches from the road surface.
If you fail your road test 4 times, you may be required
To wait 1 year.
Your chances of surviving a collision is up to
4 times greater with seat belts.
Getting a license illegally may result in
A fine of $200 to $500 fine and/or 30 to 90 days in jail and your license taken away.
The penalty for drunken driving aside from the fines
Will require you to pay $1000 each year for 3 years as a automobile insurance surcharge. don’t drink.
TEST 3

If you want to park uphill with a curb, your should turn your wheels to the
Left.
Drugs and alcohol can affect
Coordination.
Vision.
Decision making.
To get an examination permit you must
Must pass a vision and knowledge test.
The fastest way to “get sober” is
Time.
How close to a stop sign can you park?
50 Feet.
A driver should always yield to
People in a cross walk.
Fire engines.
Police cars.
It is the law to yield
When pedestrians are in a cross walk.
When behind a vehicle yielding to pedestrians.
When there is a stop sign.
You should only use your high beams when
Driving on open roads with little or no traffic.
One 5 ounce glass of wine has the same amount of alcohol as
1 and 1/2 ounces of 86 proof liquor.
A truck takes how much longer to stop than a car if it is raining?
25%.
An acceleration lane is used when
Entering a highway.
A motorist must stop
At the direction of a traffic officer.
If you are about to enter a curve in the road, you should
Slow down.
A state resident must transfer their license
Within 60 days or until the out of state license expires whichever is first.
A provisional license lasts for
One year.
Every driver must have
Liability insurance.
Signs of an intoxicated driver include
All of the above are correct.
An habitual offender is someone who
A person with three violations in three years.
If you are under 21 years old, you are considered under the influence if you BAC is
.10%.
.08%.
.02%.
A common mistake for a new driver is
Hitting the brake to hard.
When are right turns allowed?
After a full stop when there is not a NO TURN ON RED sign and when traffic has been checked.
An uncontrolled intersection has
No signs
You may pass another vehicle if
You are on a two way road with a shoulder.
A blue sign is for
Information.
As a car enters a curve, it tends to go
Straight.
If you get a flat tire while driving on a two lane road the best thing to do is
Take your foot off the gas and slowly leave the roadway.
A new vehicle does not get inspected for
4 years.
An eight sided sign is
A stop sign.
Have far from an intersection should you signal when making a turn?
At least 100 feet.
To communicate with other drivers during the day it is best to
Use your horn.
Under what circumstance can a driver get a conditional license in NJ?
Never.
We use the 2 second rule for
When determining following distance.
A yellow triangle sign mean
Yield.
If the brakes fail to stop your car, you should
Pump your brakes and put the car into neutral.
Drivers may use studded snow tires between
November 15 and April 1.
To get a special learners permit the student must be at least
16 years old.
A basic driver’s license is awarded to someone who is a least
18.
Hydroplaning can cause
Tires to ride up on a film of water.
Hydroplaning can occur
During a heavy rain storm.
To obtain a GDL permit you must
Be at least 17.
Pass a written and eye test.
When a driver holds their left are straight out the window it means he will
Turn left.
An aggressive driver may exhibit the following
Pass illegally.
Weave in traffic.
Warning sign is what shape?
Diamond.
DUI means
Driving while using drugs or alcohol.
When turning onto a 4 lane road from a 2 lane road it is best to turn into
The lane nearest the center of the road.
Define BAC
A method that measures how intoxicated a driver is.
An orange triangle sign with a red border means
Slow moving vehicle.
Seat belts should be worn by
Any person in the car regardless of age.
For a first driving offense, other than DUI, a driver can receive
A fine of $50-$150.
Every licensed driver must have three items with them while driving. They are
A valid license, valid insurance and registration.
TEST 4

You may pass when:
Paving markings and road signs permit.
When absolutely necessary.
After you have checked traffic behind and in front of you.
You can pass a school bus only when:
When the bus has pulled into a school to pick up children.
Every licensed driver must have three items with them while driving. They are:
A valid license, valid insurance and registration.
Hydroplaning can cause:
Tires to ride up on a film of water.
An eight sided sign is:
A stop sign.
When should you dim your headlights?
If you are behind someone and within 500 feet of them.
An orange triangle sign with a red border means:
Slow moving vehicle.
It is the law to yield:
When pedestrians are in a cross walk.
When behind a vehicle yielding to pedestrians.
When there is a stop sign.
Define BAC
A method that measures how intoxicated a driver is.
Under what circumstance can a driver get a conditional license in NJ?
Never.
If you are about to enter a curve in the road, you should:
Slow down.
When a driver holds their left are straight out the window it means he will:
Turn left.
To obtain a GDL permit you must:
Be at least 17.
Pass a written and eye test.
An uncontrolled intersection is:
An un-marked intersection.
Signs of an intoxicated driver include:
Going to slow.
Weaving in and out of traffic.
Stopping abruptly.
Drivers may use studded snow tires between:
November 15 and April 1.
An uncontrolled intersection has:
No signs.
Drivers convicted of a moving violation in a construction zone can:
Have their fines doubled.
The purpose of a deceleration lane is:
To allow the driver to slow down when leaving a highway.
An habitual offender is someone who:
A person with three violations in three years.
An aggressive driver may exhibit the following:
Pass illegally.
Weave in traffic.
In order for a driver to get a provisional license they must:
Complete 6 months of supervised driving.
Be suspension free.
Pass a road test.
For a first driving offense, other than DUI, a driver can receive:
A fine of $50-$150.
One 5 ounce glass of wine has the same amount of alcohol as:
1 and 1/2 ounces of 86 proof liquor.
A special GDL permit allows you to drive:
After you completed a driver education course and are at least 16 years old.
Which of the following can affect your driving:
Tiredness.
Illness.
Drugs and alcohol.
Hydroplaning can occur:
During a heavy rain storm.
Seat belts should be worn by:
Any person in the car regardless of age.
Rearview mirror blind spots are found:
Behind rear window post.
On the left side.
On the right side.
A motorist must stop:
At an intersection with a flashing red light.
We use the 2 second rule for:
When determining following distance.
To communicate with other drivers during the day it is best to:
Use your horn.
A blue sign is for:
Information.
A state resident must transfer their license:
Within 60 days or until the out of state license expires whichever is first.
To get a special learners permit the student must be at least:
16 years old.
You have to notify MVC of a name change within:
Two weeks.
When turning onto a 4 lane road from a 2 lane road it is best to turn into:
The lane nearest the center of the road.
A driver with a special learner’s permit may drive between the hours of:
11:01pm and 5:00am.
A driver should always yield to:
People in a cross walk.
Fire engines.
Police cars.
You should only use your high beams when:
Driving on open roads with little or no traffic.
A new vehicle does not get inspected for
4 years.
If you want to park uphill with a curb, your should turn your wheels to the:
Left.
To get an examination permit you must:
Must pass a vision and knowledge test.
As a car enters a curve, it tends to go:
Straight.
The colors of a stop light from top to bottom are:

Red, yellow, green.
A provisional license lasts for:
One year.
If you are under 21 years old, you are considered under the influence if you BAC is:
.10%.
.08%.
.02%.
If the brakes fail to stop your car, you should:
Pump your brakes and put the car into neutral.

Drugs and alcohol can affect:
Coordination.
Vision.
Decision making.
The speed limit in a business district is:
25 mph.